I can\'t hug you on the phone, so hurry home

He's been sitting by the phone since she leftBut it's time for work and he just can't be lateSo he grabs his old guitarAnd he plays a couple bars on the machineAnd then he softly singsIt doesn't matter what you've done, I still love youIt doesn't matter where you've been, you can still come homeAnd honey if it's you, we've got a lot of making up to doAnd I can't hug you on the phone, so hurry homeWell the message light was blinking when he got backIt was an old friend calling cause he just heard the newsHe says Man I hope you find herIf I see her I'll remind her that her dad is worriedAnd want her to knowIt doesn't matter what you've done, I still love youIt doesn't matter where you've been, you can still come homeAnd honey if it's you, we've got a lot of making up to doAnd I can't hug you on the phone, so hurry homeWell the days dragged by without a word from herAnd it looked like she might not be coming backPeople said man don't you think it's time to take that old message offHe said no, you never know when she might callShe was just outside a bar in New York CityHer so-called friends had left her all aloneShe was scared he wouldn't want herBut she dialed up that old number and let it ringAnd then she heard him singIt doesn't matter what you've done, I still love youIt doesn't matter where you've been, you can still come homeAnd honey if it's you, we've got a lot of making up to doAnd I can't hug you on the phone, so hurry homeHe walked in just in time to hear her sayDad, I'm on my way